Alcohol is often something overlooked when it comes to being gluten-free. For those that are gluten intolerant, there’s the big debate around whether or not distilled alcohol is gluten-free but according to Celiac UK even if a cereal that contains alcohol is used as an ingredient, all spirits are distilled as part of the manufacturing process and this process removes any traces of gluten. This means that all spirits are safe for those with celiac or a gluten intolerance along with cider, wine, sherry, port and liqueurs.
Alcohol that can cause problems and doesn’t tick gluten-free boxes includes beer, lager stouts and ales although specially manufactured versions of some beers, ales and lagers are available.
But when it comes to cocktails, what are our options?
Ahead of a hopefully, long, warm summer, we’re already thinking about the refreshing cocktails we can consume during a summer afternoon. In a bid to help out our gluten-free friends, we’ve rounded up the best of gluten-free cocktails perfect for summer.
Click each cocktail name for the link to the full recipe.